Blog Post

26 February 2013

How Does The New Florida PIP Law Affect You?

floridapipNew PIP Law

Did you know that the Florida Automobile No-Fault Insurance Law has changed effective January 1, 2013? According to the new Florida PIP law, each individual is still required to carry $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection, however, if you are in an accident and require medical intervention, you are not entitled to using the full $10,000 unless your injuries are deemed an emergency medical condition.

Emergency Medical Condition

An emergency medical condition is defined as a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious jeopardy to patient health, serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of a body organ or part. According to the new Florida PIP law, an individual who is not diagnosed with an emergency medical condition, the PIP medical benefit limit is $2,500.

Massage and Acupuncture Not Covered Under New Florida PIP Law

Massage and acupuncture are not reimbursable, regardless of who the type of provider rendering such services. Under the new Florida PIP law, individuals seeking PIP medical benefits are required to receive initial services and care within 14 days after the motor vehicle accident. Initial services and care are only reimbursable if lawfully provided, supervised, ordered or prescribed by a licensed physician, licensed osteopathic physician, licensed chiropractic physician, licensed dentist, or must be rendered in a hospital, a facility that owns or is owned by a hospital, or a licensed emergency transportation and treatment provider. Follow up services and care require a referral from such providers and must be consistent with the underlying medical diagnosis rendered when the individual received initial services and care. (The Florida Senate-CS/CS/HB19-Motor Vehicle Personal Injury Protection Insurance)

Imperative To Seek Care Within 14 Days

So what does this mean? It means that it is imperative to seek care within 14 days of your accident to guarantee that your automobile insurance company will pay for your medical bills. If you wait and seek care after 14 days, you will have to use your health insurance or pay out of pocket. In my opinion, the new Florida PIP law is unfair. Symptoms of whiplash related injuries are many times not felt in the first couple of weeks following a motor vehicle accident. So, if you experience abnormal symptoms following an accident, (stiffness, nausea, fatigue, headache, loss of coordination), please seek help from a licensed professional that specializes in managing these type of symptoms/injuries, such as a chiropractic physician. It is your right to receive the care you deserve.